Skip to content

DBA Survivor: Name That Caption

February 5, 2010

So, the original SQL Batman, Tom LaRock ( BlogTwitter) , has an upcoming book called “DBA Survivor: How To Become A Rockstar DBA“. Also, I’ve been aware of Tom’s “Name That Caption Contest” over at his book’s website but I never thought of joining the contest until I read Jorge Segarra’s entry. Basically, the contest is simple – you just give a caption to the header image of the book’s website. A number of entries have already been submitted; and they are really funny and worthy of the prize – Free copy of the Book! I don’t think I am qualified to be funny enough to win this caption contest. Ok, you don’t really want to fight a battle you can’t win. That being said, I’ll do it differently – how about a serious-toned entry?

I’ve always been a fan of Richard Bach and of his home-made Philosophy. My favorite Bach book is “Running From Safety“. You might probably have guessed it right. My entry has something to do with what Bach wrote. There is this one particular quote from him that I have truly tried to inculcate in my being (oh, that sounds so philosophic!):

If it’s never our fault, we can’t take responsibility for it. If we can’t take responsibility for it, we’ll always be its victim.

That should exactly capture the heart of the “DBA Survivor” book. Let me just tweak it in the best way I can:

If you always blame the developer, you’ll always be the victim.

or

You’ll always be the first casualty of your database failure.

or

Don’t suck! It’s not the database, stupid!

I don’t really expect to win the contest, but, you know, I’m just putting in my two cents. And I’ll buy the book anyway.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Vinodini Vasanthan permalink
    September 1, 2010 2:23 PM

    Those who wants nothing but they want best………
    SQL Server is the best……….

Trackbacks

  1. uberVU - social comments

Leave a comment

  • Archives


  • RSS SQLServerPedia

  • RSS SQL Crunch – Hot SQL Links

  • My Bookmarks

  • Business Career DBA Tool Events free ebook Humor IT News Members Only Microsoft MySQL Operating System Oracle Personal Reporting Services SQL Server SQLServerPedia Syndication SSC SSIS TSQL Tutorial Uncategorized Video

  • Software Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory