Skip to content

Hello World: My Windows 7 Experience

January 16, 2009

Here are my snapshots of my Windows 7:

mywin7-11

My Windows 7

 

My Personal Rating    5starrating

More to follow…

Update:

The Windows 7 performance on my Virtual PC is kinda slow, which is understandable. This is a hardware-specific issue and Windows 7 has nothing to do with the slow performance. Once I found a physical machine that I can install Windows 7 Beta in, I am going to have a better look at it.

Initially my Windows 7 experience is quite satisfying inspite of the speed quality I am getting from my limited hardware resources. Well, what can I say, I am running Windows 7 on Virtual Machine with the host having only a mere 2 Gigabytes of RAM. The performance of my Windows 7 Virtual machine is greatly degraded by the said hardware limitations.

SELF-HEALING

One of the nice features that Windows 7 have is its capacity to detect and “heal” itself. For some reason I am missing my sound. I cannot really determine if this has something to do with the Virtual PC. On Startup, Windows 7 has detected the issue and tried to connect to Windows Update to look for the audio driver needed by my system.

selfhealingwin7

But after the process has run, I still don’t have any sound from my virtual machine.

Update on the Sound issue:

After lots of uninstall-install cycles on the Virtual Machine Additions, the sound is now finally woking! I don’t know if this a bug in the VPC SP1 software.

The only third-party program that I have installed and tried so far is Tweetdeck, a Twitter client. I have encountered no error or issues installing it. Stay tuned for more updates.

 

kick it on DotNetKicks.com

Leave a comment

  • Archives


  • RSS SQLServerPedia

  • RSS SQL Crunch – Hot SQL Links

  • My Bookmarks

  • Business Career DBA Tool Events free ebook Humor IT News Members Only Microsoft MySQL Operating System Oracle Personal Reporting Services SQL Server SQLServerPedia Syndication SSC SSIS TSQL Tutorial Uncategorized Video

  • Software Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory