Skip to content

TSQL Snippet – Makes Life Easier

October 29, 2009

I quickly grabbed the opportunity when I had the chance to become a Friend Of Redgate. I had received a License for Red Gate Toolbelt. Tools such as the SQL Prompt (now in version 4) are built to make developers’ life easier. This holds true to me as I work/train on/for SQL Server 2000 DTS conversion to SQL Server SSIS 2008.

The DTS-SSIS conversion job itself is cumbersome, so I am glad that I have some tools to make the learning curve easier.  So far I am finding the SQL Prompt Code Snippet an excellent tool in many tasks.

I have provided a screen capture below to show the SQL Prompt Snippet feature in action:

RedGateSQLPrompt

By the way, the code snippet sample in the picture is the code to find the name and text of stored Procedures.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2009 11:47 AM

    I’ve used Red Gate Tools in the past -not too long ago. They are, for the most part a Godsend when dealing with inherited projects, as it can make finding objects and correcting syntax (i.e. field names for the most part) a lot quicker.

    SQL Prompt was at a point my favorite tool; however, as I became more and more familiar with the environment I landed on, and slowly phased SQLP out.

    The one tool I can’t get tired of is SQL Compare, which has saved me in one too many occassions after massive code deployments from testing to production, and I needed to validate hundreds of modified and new objects that had to be deployed.

  2. Len Kalman permalink
    October 29, 2009 8:02 PM

    I have used red-gates products for years. I have used SQL Compare and SQL Data Compare as well as SQL Prompt. All excellent products. Maid my like a lot easier. Very Easy to use. I think they are the best on the market.

Leave a comment

  • Archives


  • RSS SQLServerPedia

  • RSS SQL Crunch – Hot SQL Links

  • My Bookmarks

  • Business Career DBA Tool Events free ebook Humor IT News Members Only Microsoft MySQL Operating System Oracle Personal Reporting Services SQL Server SQLServerPedia Syndication SSC SSIS TSQL Tutorial Uncategorized Video

  • Software Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory