Skip to content

SQL Lab Adventure: Phase I

September 30, 2009

It seems that I may be able to free some time from my schedule. To fully utilize this “spare” time, I am planning to go all the way to tech blogging! My plan to build a home-brewed test SQL Server lab is already in place. I have a couple of spare machines (physical) and a spare nice,  shiny 24″ LCD Monitor, plus my ever reliable laptop.

I want to be of help to the SQL Server Community. I want to contribute to the community in little ways. What I would specifically want to do is run some test lab for third party tools  (like Litespeed from Quest Software, SQL Data Generator from Red Gate, etc) and blog about the results. Book reviews would be awesome, too, if I have books to review.

I have no particular audience. Basically my audience is anybody that drops by my blog. And I just hope these people would pick something useful for their own benefits.

I am not an expert in SQL Server so I need inputs from the community to make this effort successful. If you need help in testing such tools, please let me know. I am quite new to testing stuff so I may need inputs on what to look for and stuff.

If you are a vendor and would want me to look into testing your tool in my sql lab, just contact me. It helps if you would send the product spec in advance. Remember this is just a test lab. Not a Real, Production server.

Let me make it clear that I am NOT doing this to gain monetary benefits. I will not NOT accept *anything* in return (with the exception of  job offer, of course). My purpose is for me to gain more knowledge and polish whatever skills I already have and help the community while I am at it. My quest is to find the ultimate path to perfecting solid SQL Server skills.

You can contact me via:

Call or leave a message: (562) 989-5406

eMail: mribunal [at] verizon [dot] net

Twitter: @MarlonRibunal

Thank you all for your support.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. carlosacostaalamo permalink
    October 6, 2009 5:46 AM

    Hi,
    I did the same that you want to do, I am an Oracle DBA with a brand new blog, I am also very curious about microsoft SQL Server new capabilities!

    But instead of using a lot of hardware I bought a quad core machine, install linux 64 and upgrade to 6 GIGs of ram:
    1st.- VMWare offers free products that runs natively on Linux 64bit. I use vmware server v2, If my hardware were compatible I could use ESXi, thats super fast virtualization!.
    2nd.- I have 1 windows and 5 linux virtualized machines. I can have up to 5 running at the same time and the performance is quite good! (I usually have 3 or 4 online) You can shut them down and pause them anytime, only what you need will be running.
    3.- You can clone as easy as copying a file. I have files of virtual machines with linux and windows fresh installed (several versions), so if I want to start a new lab I just copy my virtual machine to a new file and that’s it! super fast!, the other thing is that I do not have to destroy my old lab, it will be resting there very nicely until I need them again.

    Good luck on your post,

    Carlos Acosta

  2. October 1, 2009 2:47 PM

    Well, don’t cut out the possibility of doing paid reviews or articles eventually…

  3. September 30, 2009 10:48 PM

    Let’s say you started a new job and are given the task to improve its performance. It is running on SQL 2005, windows 2003. Where do you start? What powershell scripts can we create that would tell you about the server configuration, what dmv views do you look at, Greg larsen has the great reports you can view, and what perfmon counters do you really need.

    That should get you started.

    Have fun, looking forward to what you learn and blog about.
    -Chuck

  4. September 30, 2009 6:12 PM

    Marlon,
    This is a very good idea. I second the motion. This is the best way to learn. I wish I had more spare machines at home to do this also. We can contribute to each others knowledge as you start your labs. I’ll follow your blog and keep tabs.

    Manuel

Trackbacks

  1. Setting Up The SQL Lab « Marlon Ribunal's Note On SQL Server
  2. Twitter Trackbacks for SQL Lab Adventure: Phase I « Marlon Ribunal's Note On SQL Server [dbalink.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

  • Archives


  • RSS SQLServerPedia

  • RSS SQL Crunch – Hot SQL Links

  • My Bookmarks

  • Business Career DBA Tool Events free ebook Humor IT News Members Only Microsoft MySQL Operating System Oracle Personal Reporting Services SQL Server SQLServerPedia Syndication SSC SSIS TSQL Tutorial Uncategorized Video

  • Software Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
