Skip to content

Ready To Spark SQL Server Study Group Meetups!

May 28, 2010

It’s been a while since my last SQL-related post (re #SQLSat44). So here goes another one. It’s not about SQL Server per se but I hope that this will encourage all SQL Server pros to get together and become rock stars in their own SQL Server battlefields.

Almost a year ago I decided to take my first ever Microsoft Certification Exam. I did struggle on the study process because I have to juggle between tasks and responsibilities. Time management has always been an issue when it comes to any self-paced training initiative. I purchased videos and books and subscribed to dozens of blogs for my training needs. I have setup my software and hardware at work and home to have the right feel of what I expected to come out in the exam.

SQL Server Study Group Meetups

SQL Server Study Group Meetups Everywhere!

Working on a self-paced training is fun but not really enjoyable. Although you can find gazillions of resources on the interwebs, lack of human interactions while doing the training is sometimes frustrating. Twitter has been a good ally on that regards. My online tribe is always there whenever I need a shoulder to cry on (ok, not really).

I think that one way to maximize the learning opportunity in self-paced training is to conduct a study group wherein members are positively reinforcing their knowledge among the group, and thereby benefitting everybody in the process.

Here comes the “SQL Server Study Group Meetups”. Who will start the group – YOU. Where will be the meetup – anywhere your group decides it to be. When can we start – NOW! Now is the best time to do it. Take advantage of the Second Shot At Microsoft Exam which expires on June 30, 2010.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 8:30 AM

    I’m trying to gear up for 70-453. If someone is willing to head it up I can provide a webex and toll free conference bridge.

Trackbacks

  1. SqlServerKudos

Leave a Reply

  • Archives



  • RSS SQLServerPedia

  • RSS SQL Crunch – Hot SQL Links

  • My Bookmarks

  • Business Career DBA Tool Events free ebook Humor IT News Members Only Microsoft MySQL Operating System Oracle Personal Reporting Services SQL Server SQLServerPedia Syndication SSC SSIS TSQL Tutorial Uncategorized Video


  • Software Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 28 other followers

